How do you teambuild?

Discussion in 'Question & Answer' started by Mippy, Aug 26, 2017.

1. Mippy

Mippy New Member

I watched all VGC 2017 and I've decided to attempt to compete in VGC 18. My question is how do you personally team build? Do you build based on a concept like trick room or weather? Do you build around one Pokemon? I want to hear all about how you do it.

2. Eviltwin

Eviltwin New Member

I am new to VGC, but i will give you my casual opinion. I think that when you build a team, you should focus on the core, your winning stategy. You usually see teams go for more than one strategy to avoid being hard countered.

• Choose a winning strategy
    • Detail your every weakness, and think of how to avoid them
    • Study the meta, because disrupt your opponent winning stategy is also very important
    I think that this are the more important factors in competitive teambuilding. The rest is in game analysis, which is the most difficult part.

3. Mippy

Mippy New Member

What do you mean by winning strategy? I've been playing competitive Pokemon for years and I've heard different definitions for winning strategy.

4. ck49

ck49 Member

I've tried teambuilding by just trying to counter all the top threats, and it rarely works (at least for me). I really need to start with one or two end game strategies and then building the team around how to get that strat off regardless of what my opponent brings. An easy to see example is Sam's team from the finals. He wanted to get Xurkitree or Garchomp set up to sweep. To do that he set up tried to set up TW (or icy wind) if he couldn't get rid of faster threats, knew his calcs enough to know when aurora veil would prevent his opponent from getting KOs, etc. But at its core the goal was to end games with Garchomp or Xurkitree.

Gentlefish and Eviltwin like this.
  5. Eviltwin

Eviltwin New Member

ck49 gave you a very good example, but i will give you another simple ones:

• bellydrum snorlax